Price
Regular price $499.95
Regular price Sale price $499.95
/
  • ✔ Authenticated by the house — seal, fill level, and label inspected before release
  • ✔ Documented provenance on every bottle
  • ✔ Climate-safe, collector-grade packaging
Age: 10 Years (Released 2026) | Region: Frankfort, Kentucky | Proof: 100
  • Secure payments
  • Vault-to-door shipping
  • Adult signature (21+) at delivery
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Midnight Whiskey · The Vault Buffalo Trace Distillery · Frankfort, Kentucky

Buffalo Trace Distillery · Frankfort, Kentucky

E.H. Taylor, Jr.

Cured Oak 2026

100 Proof · 50% ABV · 10 years Age · 2026 Released

100
Proof
50%
ABV
10 years
Age
2026
Released
May 2026
Announced
Kentucky
Region

The 2026 Colonel E.H. Taylor, Jr. Cured Oak is the first Cured Oak in more than a decade, bottled at ten years rather than the seventeen of the 2015 original. Buffalo Trace announced it on 21 May 2026 at a suggested $79.99. The defining process is unchanged — white oak staves air-dried outdoors for 13 months before cooperage, more than twice the distillery's standard — and it remains Bottled-in-Bond at 100 proof. It returned as a rare, limited offering rather than an annual release.

Nº 01

The Elemental Distinction

01

Ten years — seven fewer than the 2015 original, under the same name.

02

Same 13-month open-air stave curing, against a house standard of roughly six months.

03

Announced 21 May 2026, the same day as the Four Grain revival, at a suggested $79.99.

04

Returned as a one-off offering, not an annual release.

05

Reintroduced in the same announcement as Four Grain, which did become annual.

06

Bottled-in-Bond at 100 proof, as the original was.

Nº 02

How It Was Made

Cured Oak 2026

The process claim is identical to the original and it happens entirely before the distillate exists. White oak staves for these barrels were left in the open air for thirteen months rather than Buffalo Trace's customary six or so, weathering that breaks down harsh tannins and develops flavour compounds in the wood ahead of cooperage. What changed is the whiskey put into them: this release was bottled at ten years, where the 2015 came out at seventeen. Buffalo Trace announced the return on 21 May 2026 alongside a reintroduced Four Grain, gave both a suggested retail of $79.99 with availability from that month, and drew a distinction between them — Four Grain established as an annual release joining the ongoing lineup, Cured Oak returning as a one-off. The distillery did not state a warehouse for this bottling and has not published the mash bill.

Nº 03

At a Glance

The defining facts
Designation

Bottled-in-Bond under the Act of 1897

One distillery, one distillation season, federally bonded warehouse, exactly 100 proof

Mash bill

Not disclosed

Buffalo Trace does not publish mash bills for its brands; the low-rye recipe widely attributed to this release comes from collectors and retailers.

Age

10 years

Stave curing

White oak air-dried outdoors 13 months

More than twice Buffalo Trace's standard of roughly six

Nº 04

Sensory Profile & Strategy

Distiller notes & position
I

Sensory Profile

Structure: Oak character arriving through the stave rather than through years — the same premise as the original, tested at a much lower age.
Against the 2015: Ten years instead of seventeen, so expect the wood influence to read as texture and spice rather than as the deep tannic weight of the original.
Note: Buffalo Trace published no formal tasting note for this bottling at announcement.

II

Strategic Position

The original made its case at seventeen years, where any bourbon would show heavy wood and the interesting question was whether the extended curing kept it drinkable. This release inverts the test: at ten years there is far less maturation to hide behind, so whatever the thirteen-month stave curing contributes should be easier to isolate rather than harder. That arguably makes the cheaper bottle the better demonstration. It sits with the Buffalo Trace revivals we track.

Nº 05

Collector Note & Index

Vault provenance
→

Collector Note

Establish which Cured Oak a listing means before anything else, because the gap is seven years of age and the price gap is far larger than that. This is the ten-year 2026 bottling. Any listing pairing a 2026 bottle with a seventeen-year age statement, or with the Warehouse C aging documented for the original, is carrying over specifications that do not apply — Buffalo Trace did not state a warehouse for this release. Note too that Cured Oak and Four Grain came back in the same announcement and took opposite paths: Four Grain joined the ongoing lineup as an annual, while Cured Oak returned as a one-off, which is why this bottling is the scarcer of the two despite sharing a price. The seventeen-year original from 2015 and the four-grain release that came back annual are the two useful comparisons.

→

How to Taste It

Neat, and treat it as the control rather than the showpiece. Ten years on a bonded bourbon is squarely mid-range maturity, which means the oak you find is far more likely to be the stave curing talking than the calendar — the opposite situation to the seventeen-year original, where the two are impossible to separate. A few drops of water are worth trying here; at this age there is less tannic structure to lose. Pour it before the 2015 if you have both open.

Collector IndexMW VAULT
Distillery
Buffalo Trace Distillery, Frankfort, Kentucky
Class
Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey, Bottled-in-Bond
Release
2026
Proof
100
ABV
50%
Age
10 years
Nº 06

Technical Specifications

Specification Detail
Class Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey, Bottled-in-Bond
Release 2026 — revival; a one-off offering, not an annual release
Proof 100
ABV 50%
Age 10 years
Stave curing White oak air-dried outdoors 13 months — more than twice Buffalo Trace's standard of roughly six
Mash bill Not disclosed. Buffalo Trace does not publish mash bills for its brands; the low-rye recipe widely attributed to this release comes from collectors and retailers.
Announced 21 May 2026
Suggested retail $79.99
Designation Bottled-in-Bond under the Act of 1897 — one distillery, one distillation season, federally bonded warehouse, exactly 100 proof
Region Kentucky
Distillery Buffalo Trace Distillery, Frankfort, Kentucky
Nº 07

Records & Assurance

Authentication & Vault Preservation

Every bottle sold through Midnight Whiskey is sourced as an authentic, sealed product and inspected before it ships. Orders are packed with padded, glass-rated handling and require an adult signature (21+) on delivery; we do not ship to anyone unable to verify legal drinking age. For our full sourcing and handling protocols, see our editorial and authentication standards.

Frequently Asked Questions

How old is the 2026 Colonel E.H. Taylor Cured Oak?

Ten years. That is seven years younger than the 2015 original, which was bottled at seventeen and remains the age statement most often attached to the Cured Oak name. Both releases are Bottled-in-Bond at 100 proof and both use barrels whose white oak staves were air-dried outdoors for thirteen months, so age is the substantive difference between them.

Is the 2026 Cured Oak an annual release?

No. Buffalo Trace reintroduced Cured Oak on 21 May 2026 as a one-off offering. The same announcement brought back Four Grain, and that one did join the distillery's ongoing lineup as an annual release — the two returned together and were given deliberately different footing.

What did the 2026 Cured Oak cost at release?

Buffalo Trace gave a suggested retail price of $79.99 per bottle, with availability beginning in May 2026, the same suggested price as the Four Grain reintroduced alongside it. Secondary pricing for Cured Oak has historically run far above suggested retail, driven by the seventeen-year 2015 original rather than by this bottling.

Midnight Whiskey · The Vault Cured Oak 2026

Curated For You

3 in stock

1 in stock

More from Buffalo Trace
Recently viewed